I’ve been yammering on about making this coat on this blog for some time now. Because it was my first “advanced” pattern, I really wanted to take my time over it and do it right.

I decided to make it in a black linen with a yellow and white polka dot lining as I thought it would be light enough for summer wear. Turns out I was wrong! Of course, the linen was heavier than I had anticipated and, with the added weight of the lining, it became a good autumn weight coat. Nevertheless, because the summers here may as well be autumn I have already had some wear out of it.

In general, as with all Colette Patterns, I found the pattern easy enough to follow and clearly laid out. At times, I got frustrated with it but that’s my own impatience and inexperience and not the pattern’s fault.

As this was a jacket, I didn’t make a full bust adjustment for it. When I look at it now I figure I probably should have adjusted a little as it tends to gape a little. (I’m not entirely sure how I would go about that though, so that’s something I need to look into) This made the placement of the buttons a little more difficult as well. Ultimately, I decided to put two buttons on as it looked a little better on me – and held it’s shape better – than just having the one.

One thing I did find about the coat was that, when I was wearing it I noticed the pockets tended to hang a little below the hemline when there was something that was just a little weighty in them. Next time, I think somehow attaching the pockets to either the lining to to the hem might be in order, if only to keep them a little better in the shape I’d like them! On the subject of pockets as well, I tried topstitching alongside one edge of the left pocket, but found the stitching tended to warp the shape of it. All other edges were topstitched and this gave it a lovely finished look.

I also attached the lower edges of the sleeve lining to the lower edges of the sleeves, drawing the sleeves back up inside themselves nicely. Originally I had wanted to self hem the sleeves with the lining, creating a nice neat line underneath. However, at around this time my brain started to hurt and I just wanted to get the coat finished. I eventually attached the lining to the edges of the outer sleeve, automatically pulling the sleeve up inside and then I covered the exposed seam with a little bias binding. This I stitched in two parallel lines which I think looks really nice on the outside!

All in all though, I love this pattern and I’m really pleased with the way it worked out. It looks lovely over a nice fitted skirt and makes me feel great when I wear it. I will definitely make it again for winter, possibly with longer sleeves and in a longer length. I also happen to think that with a smaller (or no?) collar this could look lovely as a coat dress for winter.

Anyway, here it is!

