I have been on a sewing mission since my last post. Here are some of the fruits of my labour…some more to follow when i can get some pictures.

Burda Button down Skirt

I made this skirt on a whim the night I finished my Rooibos dress (pictures of that to follow!). It’s not perfect and, to be honest, I used it to try out buttonholes for the first time so they are much too close to the centre seam. It’s also a little too big around the waist to the point it makes me wish I had spent a little more time on it to make it better but, ah well, it’s perfectly serviceable.

I used some gorgeous vintage buttons I picked up in  Liberty to add a little interest.  I’ll probably end up taking these off at some stage and using them for something else. For the time being, they’ll stay.

Alexander Henry April Showers Top

I’m actually wearing this top today and I absolutely love it! People at work keep commenting on how unusual the fabric is. It reminds me of something I wore when I was little – and I specifically remember having something with a similar print on it -I just have no idea what that Item of clothing was.

Here is a close up of some of the little fellas:

I only bought a metre of this fabric because I was intending to use it to make a small set of curtains to protect my fabric stash from sunlight. However, when I looked at it I couldn’t bring myself to use it for that and instead decided to make a top using the Simplicity pattern TicTacSew used for her pin-up dress. I made the straps a little too long however, so ended up having to drag them up, fold them over and add some lovely blue buttons, attached with green thread for contrast (and because they both matched!)


Love Birds Parfait

I finally got round to making the Parfait dress in this gorgeous green fabric I bought in Spotlight in Coffs Harbour back in March. I adore this material: it’s so summery,  fresh and unusual. I have to say, I  love being able to make something that is different to what everyone else is wearing at the minute.

This is a picture of it pre-zip and pre hemming. I promise it’s lovely on! Next time I’ll make it a little longer though.

I covered some buttons in the fabric as well to make it that little bit more finished looking. The pockets turned ot really well and I’m really pleased with them. I also got a little carried away and made the buttons on the pocket “look” at each other. Here they are!

I also covered the strap buttons but chose two butterflies for those:

Michael Miller Doodle Fabric dress:

This dress is from the same pattern as the April Showers top above. I was so chuffed to put the invisible zip into the side of this dress absolutely perfectly, only to break it as soon as I had it in! This fabric and the April Showers fabric were bought at the same time.

And a close up (with added kitten):

I love how the different patterns make this dress look completely different. Thanks to the colour combination this will be a good dress for summer with some sandals, and for winter with some thick tights and boots.

I find that now, with each time I pick up the machine, I feel more confident and more easy using it. I can pretty much thread it blindfolded, I have got the hang of seaming without marking the allowance (which I really shouldn’t do), I know just how much thread to wind onto the bobbin to make sure I don’t run out and, best of all, I’m getting much faster at it! This past weekend I made both the dresses and this top. The Parfait dress is classed as an intermediate pattern and I found it no hassle at all to do, In fact, I didn’t once make a mistake with the seams or matching up the fabrics whilst I was doing it, which surely must show I’m improving, right?

I was also overjoyed today to find that my longed-for Tattoo print fabric arrived along with the lovely flower print fabric, which is much prettier in real life. I still haven’t fully decided what to do with the tattoo print fabric, nut I have a pttern in mind for the other. That should be this weekend’s project I think (and the Lady Grey coat, if the fabric ever arrives!)

In fact, I’m enjoying sewing so much I decided to buy a Supafit dress dummy to help me along. I really hate trying on clothes when there are pins sticking out of them and trying to adjust seams, check the fit and all that because I just end up scratched and annoyed so this seemed like a logical next step. Hopefully it’ll be worth the expense!

