Overlockers scare the living daylights out of me. Quite probably it’s because I’ve never used one, I’ve never seen anyone use one and I have no idea how to. With a sewing machine you pretty much know where you’re at. Almost everyone has used a sewing machine at some point in their life – be it at home, at school or elsewhere. How many people can put their hands up to say they’ve used an overlocker? Certainly not me.

With that in mind, guess what I’m getting next week? That’s right…

On the Me-Made-June front, I’m doing alright so far. I’ve not really had time to put up pictures of everything I’ve done yet as I’m still frantically trying to get stuff finished. Mostly, I have to hem things, and I just really hate hemming. Like, really hate it. Like I really hate doing the dishes. I am looking to the Flickr Me-Made-May group for inspiration though and it’s really great to see other people out there doing the same thing (and doing it better, I might add!). My efforts on the Me-Made-June front were pushed back by the call up for CPD I had from the RPSGB. I therefore spent hours labouring over a dry form instead of a hot iron.

I am also about to embark on making my first pair of trousers. I found a lovely pattern on Burdastyle for some wide leg trousers with hip yoke pockets.

I’m making them in black linen so they’ll match my Lady Grey coat if I ever need to go somewhere clad in a “suit”. They also come in a shorter, knee length version (on the same pattern, just cropped up a little) which makes them perfect for the summer. If I get round to it, I might make those as well.

I know I’ve banged on about Burdastyle before, but it really is a great place to go when you’re starting out. I learned a lot of stuff from there, and I probably owe it mostly to them that I got interested in sewing in the first place. It really helps to have a community like that out there.

Anyway, I have about 2 metres of that black linen left over so I reckon I’ll probably make another Rooibos dress with it. I lined the lady gey with pale yellow polka dot material from Spotlight and it looks lovely. Matching dress anyone? Is that a bit sad? This time, I’m definitely going to pipe it all around so I may not have enough material left over to do that – I shall have to see!

Anyway, this was supposed to be a quick update. I have only 4 days left until I have to start wearing all me-made clothes for a month so I’d better get on with it!

